Kindersley Youth Committee earns provincial award

Youth-driven project created a new sense of motivation and inspiration for local young people

The Kindersley Youth Committee has won a third place Saskatchewan Municipal Award for revitalizing youth engagement and other reasons. The 2017 committee is (back row, left to right) Brianna McBride, Jocelyn Cannon, Jace Borgal, Shayla Olafson and Kathryn Sawatzky (vice-chairperson), and (front row, left to right) Joshua Enns-Wind, Jillian McArthur, Tessa Sautner (chairperson) and Colton Leismeister.

Kenneth Brown
of The Clarion

The Town of Kindersley has earned yet another Saskatchewan Municipal Award (SMA) for its ongoing engagement of local students with the Kindersley Youth Committee.

Each year, the SMA program presents awards to three municipalities to celebrate their excellent and innovative practices. There is also an award for regional co-operation, so there are four awards handed out through the program on an annual basis.

The SMA program is a partnership between the urban and rural municipal and administrator associations in Saskatchewan and the ministry of government relations. The SMA program aims to share knowledge among municipalities through best practices and to promote regional co-operation between urban and rural partners.

The first-place award went to the City of Swift Current for a Downtown Market Square, an initiative to revitalize the downtown core to engage businesses, artisans, farmers and various municipal sectors. Second place award went to the Town of Carrot River and RM of Moose Range for its Saskatchewan’s Outback: Community Branding Campaign, an initiative to develop a community brand to retain and encourage tourism business.

Kindersley won the third place award for its initiative to establish a youth committee program to revitalize youth engagement, increase the contributions of the youth and to support an intergenerational connection.

For more on this story, please see the Nov. 8 print edition of The Clarion. Kindersley Youth Committee, provincial award

You must be logged in to post a comment Login